Sanctuary of St. Aloysius Gonzaga
This Basilica represents the heart of the worship of St. Aloysius. Here is also preserved the major relic of the saint: the sacred skull, enclosed in the urn on the main altar. There are many images depicting the moments of his life and his glorification.
The Church has a harmonious facade embellished with a marble portico, and was built by the Jesuits in 1608 on the occasion of the beatification of St. Aloysius. It was designed by Luca Bienni of Salò, along with the School and the square on the front.
In 1761 the dome was built and the marble complex of the High Altar was placed. The church was proclaimed Basilica in 1964 by Pope Paul VI. In a small side chapel are housed the bodies of the venerable nieces of St. Aloysius: Cinzia, Olimpia and Gridonia, founders of the Collegio delle Vergini di Gesù.
On his visit to Castiglione in 1991, John Paul II stood in this place to celebrate the saint, world patron of youth.
This place is part of the Aloysian pilgrimage, an itinerary full of history, art and faith to discover St.Aloysius Gonzaga.
Download the flyer for further details: pilgrimage–saint–aloysius